Event

Gliterary Lunches > Events > Edinburgh Gliterary Lunch with Damian Barr & Deborah O’Connor

Edinburgh Gliterary Lunch with Damian Barr & Deborah O’Connor

26th March 2020
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

The George Hotel, George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PB

Speaker:
Damian Barr & Deborah O'Connor

Edinburgh Gliterary Lunch with Damian Barr & Deborah O’Connor

A sparkling drinks reception, followed by a delicious lunch while two award winning authors reveal the inspirations behind their latest books. Take a table of ten and entertain clients or socialise with friends or join our mixed tables and meet some likeminded women. Join us for a lunch that celebrates the good things in life; fizz, food, books and conversation.

You Will Be Safe Here by Damian Barr

The Author

Damian Barr is an award-winning writer and columnist. Maggie & Me, his memoir about coming of age and coming out in Thatcher’s Britain, was a BBC Radio 4  ‘Book of the Week’, Sunday Times  ‘Memoir of the Year’ and won the Paddy Power Political Books ‘Satire’ Award and Stonewall Writer of the Year Award. Damian writes columns for the Big Issue and High Life and often appears on BBC Radio 4. He is creator and host of his own Literary Salon that premieres work from established and emerging writers. You Will Be Safe Here is his debut novel.  @Damian_Barr

Praise for Damian Barr

‘A poignant debut novel… distinguished by its compassion, its wisdom and its remarkable sense of poetry’ –  The Guardian

The Book

A beautiful and heart-breaking story set in South Africa where two mothers – a century apart – must fight for their sons, unaware their fates are inextricably linked.

Orange Free State, 1901. At the height of the Boer War, Sarah van der Watt and her six-year-old son Fred can only watch as the British burn their farm. The polite invaders cart them off to Bloemfontein Concentration Camp promising you will be safe here.

Johannesburg, 2010. Sixteen-year-old Willem is an outsider who just wants to be left alone with his Harry Potter books and Britney, his beloved pug. Worried he’s turning out soft, his Ma and her new boyfriend send him to New Dawn Safari Camp, where they ‘make men out of boys.’ Guaranteed.

The red earth of the veldt keeps countless secrets whether beaten by the blistering sun or stretching out beneath starlit stillness. But no secret can stay buried forever.

The Dangerous Kind by Deborah O’Connor

The Author

Deborah O’Connor is a writer and BAFTA award-winning TV producer and author responsible for international TV formats like Look Me In The Eye, The Day The Cash Came and The Restaurant That Makes Mistakes. Born and bred in the North-East of England, in 2010 she completed the Faber Academy novel writing course.  She lives in London with her husband and daughter. 

She was inspired to write The Dangerous Kind after meeting Laura Richards one of the UK’s top crime behavioural analysts who works with the Met and FBI, creating a list of Potentially Dangerous Persons –who have not yet committed a serious crime but are likely to. This complex and deeply gripping feminist thriller takes on topical issues such as sexual abuse, celebrity scandals and domestic abuse all wrapped up with the popular true crime podcast phenomenon. Featuring a middle-aged woman protagonist this is a refreshing psychological thriller based on real research.

Praise for Deborah O’Connor

‘A highly topical, psychological crime thriller . . . intensely layered the relentless pace keeps you turning the page’ – Press Association

The Book

We all recognise them. Those who sit just on the fringes of society. Who send prickles up the back of our necks. The charmers. The liars. The manipulators. Those who have the potential to go that one step too far. And then take another step. Jessamine Gooch makes a living from these people. Each week she broadcasts a radio show looking into the past lives of convicted killers; asking if there was more that could have been done to prevent their terrible crimes. Then one day she is approached by a woman desperate to find her missing friend, Cassie, fearing her abusive husband may have taken that final deadly step. But as Jessamine delves into the months prior to Cassie’s disappearance she fails to realise there is a dark figure closer to home, one that threatens the safety of her own family . . . Set over a long, dark winter in London and perfect for fans of Apple Tree Yard and He Said/She Said, The Dangerous Kind is at once a gripping psychological thriller and a stunning portrayal of the monsters that live among us.

Join us for a sparkling combination of good food, good books and good company.

Gather over canapes and fizz before sitting down to a delicious lunch while two award winning writers talk about the inspiration behind their latest books.  Treat your clients or catch up with likeminded friends.

“Love books, love lunch, love Gliterary Lunches!” – Lesley Boyle, Milne Craig

“Fantastic way to catch with clients in a relaxed setting – with the added bonus of signed books!” Lorna Innes, First Scottish

More details about this event and the featured authors will be available soon.  Join our mailing list if you want to be kept informed about this and future events.

Bookings

If you would like tickets for a Gliterary Lunch, simply download and print off the Gliterary Lunch Order Form for completion and return it to us.  You can either send a cheque made payable to Gliterary Lunches or to pay online, please request an invoice. Confirmation of your booking will be sent out to you along with information about the menu, table planning and how to pre-order wine and books if required.

If you have any questions at all, please don’t hesitate to call us on 07525 791454 or email [email protected]

Sponsors