Event

Gliterary Lunches > Events > Glasgow Gliterary Lunch with Bev Thomas & Nicci French

Glasgow Gliterary Lunch with Bev Thomas & Nicci French

28th November 2019
12:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Grand Central Hotel, Glasgow

Speaker:
Bev Thomas and Nicci French

Glasgow Gliterary Lunch with Bev Thomas & Nicci French

A sparkling drinks reception, followed by a delicious lunch while two award winning authors reveal the inspirations behind their latest books. Take a table of ten and entertain clients or socialise with friends or join our mixed tables and meet some likeminded women. Join us for a lunch that celebrates the good things in life; fizz, food, books and conversation.

The Lying Room by Nicci French

 

The Authors

Nicci French is the pseudonym for the writing partnership of journalists Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. The couple are married and live in Suffolk. There are twenty one bestselling novels by Nicci French, including the Frieda Klein series, published in thirty-one languages.

The Lying Room is their first standalone novel in 10 years.

 Praise for Nicci French

Nicci French is undeniably at the top of British psychological suspense writing, expert in the unguessable twist, supremely skilled at ratcheting up the tension. The Observer

 

 

The Book

A trusted colleague and friend.  A mother.  A wife.  Neve Connolly is all these things. Neve has also made mistakes; some small, some unconsciously done, some large, some deliberate.  She is only human after all.

But now one mistake is spiralling out of control.  Without ever meaning to do so, Neve has brought those around her into immense danger.  She can’t tell the truth without risking her marriage.  So just how far is she prepared to go to protect those she loves?

A liar.  A cheat.  A threat.  Neve Connolly is all these things.  Is she also a murderer?

 

A Good Enough Mother by Bev Thomas

The Author

Bev Thomas was a clinical psychologist in the NHS with twenty-five years’ experience working with patients and staff.  She has an in-depth knowledge of clinical work with complex patients, the nature of trauma and the workings of an NHS psychology department.  She currently works as an organisational consultant in mental health and other services.  She lives in London with her family.  

Praise for Bev Thomas

It is rare to find a novel with such a marriage of quality writing and evident commercial reach; both a riveting family drama and psychological thriller which delivers a rich reading experience. It is written with such sharp intelligence and deftness of touch. Stephen Page

The Book

The hardest lies to spot are the ones we tell ourselves.

Dr Ruth Hartland rises to difficult tasks. She is the director of a highly respected trauma therapy unit. She is confident, capable and excellent at her job. Today she is preoccupied by her son Tom’s disappearance.

So when a new patient arrives at the unit – a young man who looks shockingly like Tom – she is floored.

As a therapist, Ruth knows exactly what she should do in the best interests of her client, but as a mother she makes a very different choice – a decision that will have profound consequences.

A gripping and deeply intelligent literary psychological thriller for fans of Apple Tree Yard, A Good Enough Mother promises to be as big as Lullaby.

 

Bookings

If you would like tickets for a Gliterary Lunch, simply download and print off the Gliterary Lunch Order Form 2019 for completion and return it to us.  You can either send a cheque made payable to Gliterary Lunches or to pay online, please request an invoice. Confirmation of your booking will be sent out to you along with information about the menu, table planning and how to pre-order wine and books if required.

If you have any questions at all, please don’t hesitate to call us on 07525 791454 or email [email protected]